Thailand has waived its visa fee for another six months


Thai government extended visa waiver for 21 countries until April

Fees have been abolished for Taiwan, Andorra, Bulgaria, Bhutan, China, Cyprus, Ethiopia, Fiji, India, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Papua New Guinea, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan and Ukraine.

The current exemptions came into force in April this year and were due to expire on 31 October. But the Thai Cabinet of Ministers extended them until the end of next April.

Over the past six months, the flow of tourists has increased by 120%. The lost profit from the levy of 10.76 billion THB is more than covered by the profits from foreign tourists. It amounted to 144.73 billion THB.

This step is part of the local government’s policy of supporting the tourism sector. According to it, the Cabinet even increased the quota for Australians entering Thailand on work and holiday visas from 500 to 2,000 per year.

The government has also allocated 19 billion THB to stimulate local tourism.

Source: The Nation. Translation: Nikita Grebennikov.